2017 VFW Legislative Conference

2017 Legislative Conference 

Since 1949, VFW's annual Legislative Conference has provided an opportunity for VFW leaders from each state to personally lobby their respective lawmakers and watch as VFW's current Commander-in-Chief testifies on Capitol Hill before the House and Senate Veterans' Affairs Committees on behalf of veterans.

Guest speakers are invited to address conference delegates, and since 1964 the VFW's Congressional Award has been presented annually to one sitting member of the House or Senate for their significant legislative contributions on behalf of those who have worn the uniform. Also at the event, the winners of the Voice of Democracy and Patriot's Pen scholarship contests are announced. Each national winner reads their winning essay before conference delegates and are presented with their winnings.

This year, Senator Susan Collins (R-Maine) received the VFW Congressional Award in recognition of her unwavering support of veterans, service members and their families, as well as to strengthening America through strong national security programs. Sen. Collins is a VFW life member of VFW Auxiliary Post 9389 in Caribou, Maine.

The Voice of Democracy first-place winner, Savannah Wittman, sponsored by VFW Post 12118 and its Auxiliary in Copperopolis, Calif., was presented with the T.C. Selman Memorial Scholarship award in the amount of $30,000. The Patriot’s Pen first-place winner, Lindi Compton, sponsored by VFW Post 5813 and its Auxiliary in Greensburg, Ky., received that contest’s top prize of a $5,000 award.

Look for #VFWDC2017 on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.