2016 VFW Legislative Conference

Watch the Commander-in-Chief's full testimony and other clips from the 2016 Legislative Conference..

Since 1949, VFW's annual Legislative Conference has provided an opportunity for VFW leaders from each state to personally lobby their respective lawmakers and watch as VFW's current Commander-in-Chief testifies on Capitol Hill before the House and Senate Veterans Affairs committees on behalf of veterans.

Guest speakers are invited to address conference delegates, and since 1964 the VFW's Congressional Award has been presented annually to one sitting member of the House or Senate for their significant legislative contributions on behalf of those who have worn the uniform. Also at the event, the winners of the Voice of Democracy and Patriot's Pen scholarship contests are announced. Each national winner reads their winning essay before conference delegates and are presented with their winnings.

House Veterans Affairs Committee Chairman Jeff Miller (R-Fla.) received the VFW Congressional Award in recognition of his efforts to improve the VA's ability to deliver timely and quality health care. Pentagon-based, Fox News national security correspondent Jennifer Griffin was awarded the VFW News Media Award for her efforts to help America better understand the foreign and domestic threats to America. The Voice of Democracy first-place winner, Grayson Campbell, sponsored by VFW Post 10555 and its Auxiliary in Panama City Beach, Fla., was presented with the T.C. Selman Memorial Scholarship Award in the amount of $30,000. The Patriot’s Pen first-place winner, Shane Stafford, sponsored by VFW Post 10468 in Searchlight, Nev., received that contest’s top prize of a $5,000 award.