2020 VFW Scout of the Year Winners Named

Missouri Scout takes top national prize of $5,000

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW) is proud to announce the selection of the top three winners of its 2019 - 2020 Scout of the Year scholarship competition. 

2020 VFW Scout of the Year Winners
2020 VFW Scout of the Year first place winner Jacqueline Abnos, second place winner Marius Schnell, and third place winner, Justin Swize.
This year’s first place winner, Jacqueline Abnos, was sponsored by VFW Post 1829 in Kansas City, Missouri. As a Venturing Summit Award and Gold Award recipient currently working toward her Eagle Scout, Abnos was selected for her leadership, dedication to scouting and her activism. As the first place 2020 Scout of the Year, Abnos will receive a $5,000 college scholarship. 

Marius Schnell, sponsored by VFW Post 10557 in Hohenfels, Germany, was named second place winner for his notable work protecting endangered wildlife, his leadership skills and his patriotism toward our nation’s veterans. Schnell will receive a $3,000 college scholarship. 

Sponsored by VFW Post 4146 in Victoria, Texas, Justin Swize was selected as the third place winner for his personal drive, environmentally focused projects, and his positive leadership skills. Swize will receive a $1,000 college scholarship. 

Enacted in 2001, the Scout of the Year competition was designed to reward eligible members of the Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts, Venturing Crew or Sea Scouts who have risen above their peers in exemplifying standout citizenship, patriotism and love of country with college scholarships of up to $5,000.

Read more about the VFW’s Scout of the Year program.