2015 VFW Legislative Conference

Watch the Commander-in-Chief's full testimony and other clips from the 2015 Legislative Conference here.

Since 1949, VFW's annual Legislative Conference has provided an opportunity for VFW leaders from each state to personally lobby their respective lawmakers and watch as VFW's current National Commander testifies on Capitol Hill before the House and Senate Veterans' Affairs committees on behalf of veterans.

Guest speakers are invited to address conference delegates, and since 1964 the VFW's Congressional Award has been presented annually to one sitting member of the House or Senate for their significant legislative contributions on behalf of those who have worn the uniform. Also at the event, the winners of the Voice of Democracy and Patriot's Pen scholarship contests are announced. Each national winner reads their winning essay before conference delegates and are presented with their winnings.

In 2015, Senator Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.) received the VFW Congressional Award. The Voice of Democracy first-place winner, Adam Densmore, sponsored by VFW Post 3631 and its Auxiliary in Aurora, Colo., was presented with the T.C. Selman Memorial Scholarship Award in the amount of $30,000. The Patriot’s Pen first-place winner, Ethan Schroeder, sponsored by VFW Post 92 and its Auxiliary in New Kensington, Pa., received that contest’s top prize of a $5,000 award.