VFW Announces 2014-15 Scout of the Year Scholarship Winners

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (June 3, 2015) – The Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW) is proud to announce the winners of the 2014-15 Scout of the Year annual scholarship competition.  Established in 2001, the Scout of the Year competition was designed to reward eligible members of the Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts who display standout citizenship, patriotism and love of country with college scholarships of up to $5,000. 

This year’s first-place winner Meredith S. Burke, sponsored by VFW Post 3530 in Richardson, Texas, will receive a $5,000 college scholarship. The second-place winner, Haley Wohlever, sponsored by VFW Post 5390 in Portsmouth, R.I., will receive a $3,000 college scholarship. The third-place winner, Dietrich G. Streuber, sponsored by VFW Post 6154 in Morgan, Utah, will receive a $1,000 college scholarship.

To find out more about the VFW’s Scout of the Year program, visit www.vfw.org/scout.

The Veterans of Foreign Wars of the U.S. is a nonprofit veterans service organization comprised of eligible veterans and military service members from the active, Guard and Reserve forces. Founded in 1899 and chartered by Congress in 1936, the VFW is the nation's largest organization of war veterans and its oldest major veterans organization. With nearly 1.9 million VFW and Auxiliary members located in more than 6,800 Posts worldwide, “NO ONE DOES MORE FOR VETERANS.” The VFW and its Auxiliaries are dedicated to veterans’ service, legislative advocacy, and military and community service programs. For more information or to join, visit our website at www.vfw.org.  


Contact: Kevin Jones