Winners of VFW Publications Contest Announced

KANSAS CITY, Mo.  — VFW has announced the winners of the 2015 National Publications Contest. This year, the publications contest underwent significant changes to encourage continued participation. The contest’s reorganization created two new categories: Magazine and Best Feature Article.

Two non-VFW-affiliated journalism professionals served as judges for the competition. This is designed to guarantee impartiality and objectivity in the judging. To reiterate, VFW staffers play no part in judging the entries.

The winning publications in each category are:


1st Texas VFW News
Roy Grona, Editor

Best Feature Article

1st       “PA Commander Delivers VFW Support to PA Troops in Iraq/Kuwait”
                       by David Sandman – Department of Pennsylvania

2nd      “Four New Vans for Nebraska Veteran’s Home”
                       by Department of Nebraska

3rd       “Honoring Veterans Who Didn't Come Home”
                       by Jim Daly, The Daily World 
                       Department of Washington

 Department Publications

Large Frequency (printed 4+ times per year)

1st Wisconsin VFW News
Marla J. Morgan, Editor

2nd Illinois VFW News
Barbara Wilson, Editor

3rd Pennsylvania VFW News
David A. Sandman, Editor

Small Frequency (printed 1-3 times per year)

1st VFW Arizona News
Ski Kuczynski, Editor

2nd Virginia Veteran
Rick Raskin, Editor

3rd   Idaho Veterans and Auxiliary News
Susan Thompson, Editor

District/Post Publications

Large Frequency (printed 4+ times per year)

1st VFW Post 7319 Newsletter (Post 7319, South Dakota)
Jerry Seiner, Editor

2nd Cannon News (Post 7589, Virginia)
Rick Raskin, Editor

3rd Post 9639 Newsletter (Post 9639, Pennsylvania)
Michael Stephens, Editor

Small Frequency (printed 1-3 times per year)

1st The Guardian (Post 2554, Washington)
Judy Donahue, Editor

2nd VFW Post 216 Newsletter (Post 216, Pennsylvania)
Heather Berger, Editor

3rd Fort Sisseton VFW 3342 (Post 3342, South Dakota)
Tammy Chase, Editor