VFW Announces 2008-2009 National Voice of Democracy Winners

Winners of the VFW and Ladies Auxiliary sponsored, Voice of Democracy (VOD) audio-essay scholarship competition were announced late yesterday afternoon. The program celebrated its 62nd year with this year's theme being “Service and Sacrifice by America’s Veterans Benefit Today’s Youth by...”. All national scholarships totaled $175,500, and all winners received at least a $2,000 college scholarship.
This year's first place winner, Natale Szabo, has received the $30,000 T.C. Selman Memorial Scholarship Award.

Read or listen to the winning essay.

Watch Szabo deliver her winning essay.

Patriot's Pen
Read or listen to Julia Benbrook's winning Patriot's Pen essay.

Watch Benbrook deliver her winning Patriot's Pen essay.