

Winners of VFW Publications Contest Announced

May 03, 2009

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — VFW has announced the winners of the 2009 National Publications Contest. Two full-time journalism professionals served as judges for the competition. The winning publications in each category are:

Department Publications

Large

1st Pennsylvania VFW News David Sandman, Editor 2nd Texas VFW News Roy Grona, Editor 3rd VFW Wisconsin News William Knudson, Editor

Medium

1st The VFW Voice (Iowa)
Jerry L. Frederiksen, Editor
2nd Nebraska VFW News
Dick McMichael, Editor
3rd The VFW Leader (North Carolina)
Bruce Edwards, Editor

Small

1st Idaho Veterans and Auxiliary News Susan Thompson, Editor 2nd South Dakota Overseas Veteran Linda Nelson, Editor 3rd The Montana Veteran Larry Longfellow, Editor

District Publications *Medium*

1st 9'er News (District 9, Illinois)

NATIONAL HEADQUARTERS

Elton Murphy, Editor 2nd The Comrade (District 10, Colorado) Carolyn Simon, Editor 3rd The Fighting Sixth District News (District 6, Minnesota) Delphine Kelly, Editor

Small

1st District 6 Guidon (District 6, Georgia)
John E. Bogardus, Jr., Editor
2nd Reveille (District 4, Arizona)
Judy Hamlin, Editor
3rd The Untouchable News (District 2, Illinois)
Robert J. Drzewiecki, Editor

Post Publications

Large

1st Vet Gazette (Post 6796, Texas) Kiki Arrington, Editor 2nd Roll Call (Post 9400, Arizona) Robert J. Krupp III, Editor 3rd Bliss Bugle (Post 628, South Dakota) Roger Ervin and Joyce Pope, Editors

Medium

1st Woodstock VFW News (Post 5040, Illinois) Matthew Klos, Editor 2nd The Goodell Gazette (Post 552, Michigan) John F. McElmeel, Sr., Editor 3rd Warrior Shimbun (Post 9612, Pacific) Joseph F. Mortimer, Jr., Editor

Small

1st VFW Post 2016 News (Post 2016, Massachusetts) Dennis "Ski" Iworsky, Editor 2nd Regalia Reporter (Post 6298, California) John Pecoraro, Editor 3rd VFW Post 1038 News (Post 1038, Wisconsin) Leroy G. Jansky, Editor